I’m beat and only halfway there (back).

A few posts ago I showed the hike into Cruikshank Canyon viewpoint.  This is the viewpoint from the other side of the valley.  I didn’t look over the edge at the time and my suspicions prove true.  It was straight down!  Good grief but I  hate (love) heights.

The excellent trail to Moat lake.  I love this kind, where the trail is a mix and not all trippy-rooty-yuk.  I don’t have to pay quite as much attention here, except to be sure not to walk over the edge.

Cruikshank Canyon.  Nuff said.

Castlecraig mountain in the background and Moat lake in the middle.  As usual, pics do not capture reality.  This is  stunning.

Fall colors are evident.  Just back down the trail there was frozen ponds and frost by the trail.  This is 3:30 pm, Oct. 2.  Some misguided souls (read ‘hardier than me’) are camping at Circlet lake tonight.  Brrrrrrrr.

There are many little jewels up here.  Don’t know if I’d drink it, and it’s definitely too cold for a bath.  I’ll have to settle for looking at it.

Well, there it is.  Moat lake and wasn’t I surprised to see cabins there.  They are on an island that is privately owned.  Very nice, what?  Strictly a helicopter show.  It was sort of like going to Moscow and seeing a McDonald’s restaurant sign, though.  Sigh.

Ah yes, the bridge.  To the other side.  High tech.  Where, I ask, are the handrails?????

The bridge goes over this creek.  You can see the waterfall this leads to from the viewpoint on the other side of the canyon.  More to the point, it’s really loud over there.  Certainly is a different perspective close up.

Part of Moat – south side.  This part of the lake is actually the bigger part.

Well, time to head back.  It was at this point that I realized that I’m really tired, but there’s a long way to go back.  Such is hiking.  I’ll be sore and achy tomorrow, and raring to go again soon.  I sure hope you don’t get tired of these.

6 thoughts on “I’m beat and only halfway there (back).

    1. Cruikshank has Scottish origins. The river Cruik figures large, and shank may be a specific place along it. It has nothing to do with crooked legs, apparently.

      OR

      It’s when you club someone on the bean, said someone trying to rob you. :>

Leave a Reply

